Hoath, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hoath, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Hoath, Kent
Hoath Holy Cross Kent.jpg
Hoath Holy Cross Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bleangate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean PLU
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: 1554; For more records see Reculver
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOATH (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Blean, hundred of Bleangate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 6 miles (N. E.) from Canterbury.[1]


Hoath is a village and civil parish in the Canterbury district of Kent Hoath Wikipedia

Hoath was originally formed as a chapel of ease or chaplery in the Ancient Parish of Reculver, Kent and later as a parish. The hamlets of Knaves Ash, Maypole, Ford, Old Tree, Shelvingford and Stoney Acre are included in the parish and a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you A gable is inscribed " built 1303, repaired 1842".

The church of the Holy Cross, Church Road, Hoath was restored in 1866-1867 and as the Kent Archeological Survey below notes "heavily" and has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed Building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted description of the chapelries of Reculver in The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 109-125 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Blean Registration District Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hoath, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Hoath, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1554-1870 1554-1870 1558-1900; 1754-1924 (Banns) 1558-1900; 1754-1924 (Banns) 1559-1974 1559-1974

Land Tax

Images for Borough of Hoath are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306862.


Kent Census 

Poor Law Unions

Blean Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hoath on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 521-524. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:35.
  • This page has been accessed 3,867 times.