Hockerton, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hockerton, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Hockerton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Parish History

Hockerton, Nottinghamshire
Hockerton St+Nicholas Nottinghamshire.JPG
Hockerton St+Nicholas Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

HOCKERTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Southwell division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (N. N. E.) from Southwell.[1]

Additional information:

Hockerton St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the church and parish Hockerton St Nicholas

The Parish church of Hockerton St Nicholas has been designated asa a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Hockerton Wikipedia


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hockerton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Hockerton St Nicholas

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1582-1904 Marriages 1582-1901 Burials 1582-1902 Bishop's Transcripts 1602-1850
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hockerton

Hockerton, St Nicholas.  Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1721, giving surname, given name, date of death and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 1-2, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire .

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Hockerton in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 November 2015, at 00:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,887 times.