Hocking County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hocking County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Hocking County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Hocking County Courthouse 1 East Main Street Logan, Ohio 43138 Hocking County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Athens, Ross, and Fairfield Counties 3 January 1818.[1]
- County Seat: Logan
- Neighboring Counties: Hocking County, Ohio residents may also have records in [2]Fairfild (north) · Vinton (south) · Perry (northeast) · Pickaway and Ross (west) · Athens (east)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Hocking County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Hocking County, Ohio Cemeteries
- Cemetery Index
- The Tombstone Transcription Project
- Cemeteries In or Near Hocking County
- The Political Graveyard
- Hocking County Cemeteries
- Ohio Gravestones (Hocking County)
- Find A Grave (142 Cemeteries listed)
- Ohio Tombstone Photo Project
- Hocking County Cemeteries
- Ohio Cemetery Preservation Society
- Many Cemeteries Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census and Directories
- 1820 United States Federal Census $
- 1830 United States Federal Census $
- 1840 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1850 (About this Collection)
- U. S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 $
- United States Census, 1860
- United States Census 1860 More information.
- 1860 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census, 1870
- United States Census 1870 More information.
- United States Census, 1880
- United States Census 1880 More information
- 1880 United States Federal Census $
- 1890 Veterans Schedule $
- United States Census, 1900
- United States Census 1900 More information
- 1910 United States Federal Census $
- Ohio, 1910 federal census
- United States Census 1910 More information
- 1920 United States Federal Census $
- Ohio, 1920 federal census
- United States Census 1920 More information
- 1930 United States Federal Census $
- Ohio, 1930 federal census
- United States Census 1930 More information
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
- Church and Family History Research Assistance for Hocking County, Ohio
- Hocking County, Ohio Churches
- Topographic Map Church Features in Hocking County, Ohio
Court Records
- The Records Project, Hocking County Public Record Information Online
- Hocking County, Ohio Free Public Records Directory
- Find County Records
- Many Court Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many Guardianship Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Hocking County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
- History of Hocking Valley Ohio, Together with sketches of its Cities, Villages and Townships, Educational, Religious, Civil, Military and Political History, Portraits of Prominent Persons, and Biographies of Representative Citizens...Chicago: Inter-State Publishing Co.. 1883.
- Historical Collections of Ohio by Henry Howe Vol. 1 1888, Hocking County
- Hocking County Ohio, Biographies
- Hocking County, Ohio 1908 Souvenir Book (36 pages)
- Postal History
- History of Hocking County, Ohio
- Hocking County Biography (WorldCat)
- A Brief History of Hocking County
- Hocking County, Ohio (WikipediA)
- National Register of Historic Places
- Hocking County, Ohio Timeline
- Many History Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Land Patent Search
- Land Records
- Many Land Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Maps
- Atlas of Hocking County Ohio
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
- David Rumsey Map Collection
- Hocking County Ohio 1895 U. S. Atlas
- U. S. Land Ownership Atlases, c. 1864-1918, Ohio, Hocking $
- Hocking County Map
- Hocking County Detailed Map
- Category: Maps of Hocking County, Ohio
- Many Maps for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
- Civil War
- - Civil War service men from Lucas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lucas County.
- - 114th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies H and I
- - 114th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies H and I
- - Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
- - Hocking County, Ohio Civil War
- - Civil War Research Database $
- - Civil War Pension Index: General Indes to Pension Files, 1861-1934 $
- - Morgan's Raiders Ride Through Athens, Hocking and Perry Counties
- - 58th Ohio Infantry Regiment (Union)
- - 63rd Ohio Infantry Regiment (Union)
- World War I
- - World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 $
- - Ohio Military Men 1917-1918 $
- World War II
- - U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $
- - Hocking County, Ohio WW II Army Enlistment Records 1838-1946
- - Draft Registration Cards, 1942
- - Young America Patriots 1941-1945
- - World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing
- - Hocking County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
- Many Military Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Many Naturalization and Citizenship Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Newspapers
Hocking County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- The Logan Daily News
- Newspaper Abstracts
- Hocking County, Ohio Newspaper Extractions
- Logan Daily News $
- Many Newspapers for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many Obituaries for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Obituaries
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Hocking County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Hocking County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- Many Probate Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Hocking County Courthouse
1 East Main Street
Logan, OH 43138-1207
Phone:740.385.3022
Probate Judge has birth, marriage and probate records;
County Health Depart has death records; Clerk Court
has divorce and court records from 1873; County Recorder
has land records[1]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Schools
Taxation
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hocking County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Hocking County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Hocking County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Hocking County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
- Hocking County Vital Records
- Many Vital Records for Hocking County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Birth
Marriage
- Miscellaneous Hocking County, Ohio 1818-1829 Marriages
- Hocking County Marriages 1818-1885
- Hocking County, Ohio Marriages 1851-1855
- Ohio Marriages, 1803-1900 $
Death
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- Ohio Death Certificate Index, 1913-1944
- Hocking County, Ohio Deaths 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2002
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, 1958-2002 $
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Dust in the Attic Under History, click on Hocking County for cemeteries and other records.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Genealogy Trails
- My Ohio Genealogy
- Cyndi's List for Hocking County, Ohio
Places
Populated Places
- Hocking County, Ohio Townships
- Profile for Hocking County, Ohio
- Histopolis for Hocking County, Ohio
- Hocking County, Ohio, Cities, Towns and Neighborhoods
- National Register of Historic Places listings in Hocking County, Ohio (WikipediA)
- Hocking County Populated Places
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hocking County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hocking_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 01:57.
- This page has been accessed 4,332 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


