Hoke County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Hoke County

Guide to Hoke County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Hoke County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Hoke County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1911
County Seat Raeford
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Hoke Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Hoke County Courthouse
304 N Main Street
Raeford, NC 28376
Phone: 919-875-2035

Register Deeds has birth, marriage and death records
and land records from 1911
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from1911[1]

History

Parent County

1911--Hoke County was created 17 February 1911 from Cumberland and Robeson Counties.
County seat: Raeford [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nchoke.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Hoke County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Hoke County.

Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.


Civil War Confederate units

Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

Newspapers

  • News-Journal - 400+ issues freely available online spanning 1943-1969
  • Hoke County Newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county & libraries that hold them; via the Library of Congress.

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Marriages
  • 1911-1970 - Hoke County Marriage Index 1911-1970. Batch M752554 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hoke County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 6,305 times.