Hokkaido Region, JapanEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Japan Gotoarrow.png Hokkaido Region

Guide to Hokkaido Region, Japan ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Contents

Jurisdictions

Japan.prefectures.png
Japan is divided into a number of areas called 'Prefectures' (abbreviated 'Pref.'). These are analogous to states or provinces in other countries. They were created after the Meiji Restoration (1868) by consolidating feudal domains.[1] Some include a city by the same name within their boundaries.

Cities, Towns, and Villages

Within each prefecture is a number of cities, towns and villages, The larger cities are very populous, while many towns and villages are quite small and often can border each other in a way that they are at times considered part of a larger city. Most though have some space between them.

Research Tools

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:



Things you can do

Featured Content

Did you know?

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

(All text below this is included in a column on the left side of the screen.)

News and Events
  • Hot off the Press!
  • Current Events

more...

Topics
Other


References

  1. Wikipedia Contributors, "Meiji Restoration," Wikipedia, accessed 15 June 2011.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 00:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,278 times.