Hollingbourne, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hollingbourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Hollingbourne, Kent
Hollingbourne All Saints Kent.jpg
Hollingbourne All Saints Kent.
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hollingbourne PLU
Registration District Hollingbourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOLLINGBOURNE (All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 6 miles (E.) from Maidstone. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Hollingbourne is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone district of Kent, see Hollingbourne Wikipedia

Hollingbourne All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the Parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The parish church of All Saints, Upper Street, Hollingbourne has been designated asa grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 460-478 at British History Onlineand Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Hollingbourne registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hollingbourne, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[6]
Hollingbourne, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1556-1834
1554-1837

FREG
1754-1911

FS PRs 1556-1799 1556-1799 1556-1799
MIDK 1754-1911

Land Tax

Images for Hollingbourne available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

from 1987 microfilm at Kent Archives Q/RPL/180

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306853.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Hollingbourne Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 530-533. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,826 times.