Hollington, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Hollington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hollington, Sussex
Church+in+the+Wood Hollington East+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Baldstow; Hastings Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Battle PLU
Registration District Battle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOLLINGTON (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Battle, hundred of Baldslow, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 2¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Hastings; There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1] Hollington is an Ancient parish to the north of Hastings East Sussex. The church was originally known as St Rumbold's but is known officially as St Leonards church. It should not be confused with the later church of Hastings St Leonards.

The church has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage. See English Heritage

Church in the Wood Wikipedia

For further history and images refer to Sussex Parish Churches

Hollington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Hollington may also refer to the parish of  St John the Evangelist Church near Hollington which was formed from the Ancient Parish in 1870 to serve the needs of the growing suburb of Hastings. For details of the later formed parish Sussex Parish Churches

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.

Certificates may be obtained from

East Sussex County Council

The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG

Phone: 01323 464780

Fax: 01323 431386

Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Hollington, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
HOLLINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1636-1837

FREG bgcolor="#ffcccc" bgcolor="#ffcccc" bgcolor="#ccffcc" bgcolor="#ccffcc" 1822-1834 bgcolor="#ccffff"
NBI

1636-2001
PRTS
1636-1837

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hollington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Battle Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Hollington/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 530-533. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,926 times.