Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton, Nottinghamshire
Holme Pierrepont St Edmund Nottinghamshire.jpg
Holme Pierrepont St Edmund Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


HOLME-PIERREPOINT (St. Edmund), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Bingham, and of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Nottingham with the hamlet of Adbolton, formerly a distinct parish, and part of the hamlet of Bassingfield. The vicarage of Adbolton united in 1707.[1]

Additional information:

Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton was formed as an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire,  in 1707 from uniting Holme Pierrepont Ancient Parish and Adbolton Ancient Parish and includes: Adbolton, Holme Lane, Bassingfield, and Lamcote.

The church of St Edmund has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Holme Pierrepont Wikipedia and its links to other local Wikipedia pages.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HOLME PIERREPONT WITH ADBOLTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1564-1812


Holme Pierrepont St Edmund

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1564-1912 Marriages 1564-1966 Burials 1564-1903 Bishop's Transcripts 1602-1847
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton

Holme Pierrepont - St. Edmund.  A transcription of memorial inscriptions, from inside and outside the Church, dating from 1727, giving surname, given names, date of death, and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 21, pages 23-33, FHL ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Holme Pierre Pont

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 01:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,093 times.