Holt County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Holt County
Guide to Holt County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Holt County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 29 February, 1841 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Oregon |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Holt County Courthouse 100 W Nodaway Street Oregon, MO 64473 Phone: 660.446.3303 Holt County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has incomplete birth and death records 1883-1893,
marriage, divorce, land records from 1841; Clerk Circuit Court
has court records 1841; Probate Judge has probate records from 1849[1]
History
Parent County
1841--Holt County was created 29 January 1841 from the Platte Purchase. County seat: Oregon [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Holt County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- Mount Hope Cemetery, Mound City BillionGraves
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Map of Holt County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Holt County.
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Holt County, Missouri for European settlers included:
- Missouri River
- Oregon Trail 1830s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
Military
Newspapers
The Holt County sentinel. (Oregon, Mo.) Nearly 2,000 issues between 1880 and 1921 have been digitized and are fully searchable online at the Library of Congress, Chronicling America website.
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
- 1870 - Holt County Birth Index 1870. Batch C515171 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1883-1889 - Holt County Birth Index 1883-1889. Batch C515173 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Marriages
- 1846-1881 - Holt County Marriage Books B thru E Index 1846-1881. Batch M515171 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1881-1885 - Holt County Marriage Book 1 Index 1881-1885. Batch M515172 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1883-1889 - Holt County Death Index 1883-1889. Batch B515175 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Holt County, Missouri. Page 401 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 April 2013, at 21:31.
- This page has been accessed 1,916 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
