Homerton, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png Homerton

Guide to Homerton, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Homerton, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hackney PLU
Registration District Hackney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Barnabas Homerton High Street, was created in the year 1846 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of St John Hackney.

"HOMERTON, a metropolitan suburb and a chapelry, in Hackney parish, Middlesex. - The suburb lies on the N. London Railway, near Victoria-Park and Hackney stations, 3 ¼ miles N E of St. Paul's; has a post office under London NE, and a r. ST.; and consists largely of suburban residences of city merchants and opulent tradesmen.-The chapelry was constituted in 18 45. Pop. in 1861, 8, 663. Houses, 1, 306. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of London. Value, £300. Patron, the Bishop of London. Ram's proprietary chapel [and which was founded 1723 and pulled down in 1846] is here, and is in the patronage of Trustees. Three dissenting chapels, and Robinson's alms houses for 12 ministers' widows, also are here. An Independents' theological college was founded here soon after the Revolution; was rebuilt in 1823; had then an income of £2, 033; and was consolidated, in 1850, with Coward and Highbury colleges into the New college, St. John's Wood."[1]

See A Comprehensive List of Hackney District Churches in Pre-1900.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438812.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Homerton in Hackney on GENUKI

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect. In “A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions,” (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,105 times.