Hong Kong GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hong Kong)

Asia Gotoarrow.png China Gotoarrow.png Hong Kong

Guide to Hong Kong ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events


New! Genealogy Guides available in Chinese!

Topics


Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community
Hong Kong Harbor.jpg

Hong Kong (香港; "Fragrant Harbour") is an autonomous region on the southern coast of China and is geographically bounded by the Pearl River Delta and South China Sea.

Its harbor, Victoria harbor, is one of the best natural harbors in the world, and was particularly suited to the trading requirements of wind driven vessels.

Regional Emblem of Hong Kong SAR
Flag of Hong Kong SAR
Location of the Hong Kong SAR

Hong Kong's population is 93.6% ethnic Chinese and 6.4% from other groups. These other groups include Indians, and a large group of expatriate Westerners. Hong Kong's Cantonese-speaking majority originated primarily from the neighboring Guangdong province, from which many Mainland Chinese fled to escape wars and communist rule in mainland China from the 1930s to 1960s. At that time, after the cessation of hostilities from WWII, the border between the New Territories and Mainland China was famously porous. Millions fled to Hong Kong for freedom.

As a result of ongoing negotiations between, and the 1984 agreement between China and Britain, Hong Kong was handed over to the People's Republic of China and became China's first Special Administrative Region on 1 July 1997 under the principle of "one country, two systems".

Getting started with Hong Kong research

Special administrative region at the southeastern edge of China on the South China Sea. See the CIA at World Factbook.

History of Hong Kong Timeline

Hong Kong Chinese residents also kept genealogy books. Further information on this subject can be found at Genealogy book

The following link has some valuable information on China graves in general, and some sections on Hong Kong in particular [China Cemeteries]

Research Tools

ChinaGenWeb Hong Kong BYU Research Guide for Hong Kong BYU Research Guide for East Asian Researchers

Jurisdictions

...


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 November 2015, at 22:40.
  • This page has been accessed 11,021 times.