Hoo Allhallows, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hoo Allhallows, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Hoo Allhallows, Kent
Hoo Allhallows All Saints Kent.jpg
Hoo Allhallows All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hoo PLU
Registration District Hoo
Records begin
Parish registers: 1629
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

ALLHALLOWS, a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoo, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 9 miles (N. E.) from Rochester. [1]

Hoo Allhallows All Saints is an Ancient Parish on the Hoo peninsula in the Medway district of Kent.

The church is 12th century with later additions and was restored 1886-1891 by Ewan Christian and is designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. All Hallows All Saints Stoke Road Allhallows British listed buildings

Allhallows is a village and civil parish on the Hoo peninsula; the village is in two parts the ancient Hoo All Hallows and the 20th century holiday settlement All Hallows-on-Sea.See Allhallows Kent Wikipedia

See Kent Archeological Society and 'Parishes: All Hallows', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 27-34 at British History Online for history of the church and parish and Kent Churches website.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Hoo sub district Chatham Registration District and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hoo Allhallows, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[9]
Hoo Allhallows, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1795-1873 (gaps)
1754-1831

FMP 1629-1706
1630-1810
1605-1795
FREG 1629-1890
1629-1837
1629-1976
FS BTs 1718-1873 1718-1873 1718-1873
IGI 1629-1794 1629-1812, 1848-1873
MED 1629-1976 1629-1976 1629-1976

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Allhallows are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Hoo Allhallows 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
To locate local Family History Centres in UK
To locate Family History Centers outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hoo Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 37-39. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 November 2013. M131441; M131442; M131443.
  9. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 02:47.
  • This page has been accessed 3,963 times.