Hoo St Werburgh, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hoo St Werburgh, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hoo St Werburgh, Kent
Hoo St Werburgh Kent.jpg
Hoo St Werburgh Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Hoo PLU
Registration District Hoo
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOO, or St. Werburgh, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Hoo, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 4½ miles (N. E.) from Rochester.[1]


Hoo St Werburgh is a village and civil parish on the Hoo peninsula in the Medway district of Kent.Hoo Peninsula Wikipedia Hoo St Werburgh Wikipedia

Hoo St Werburgh is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester.

The church is 12th century and occupies the site of an earlier 8th century church chronicled as part of a Mercian monastery in the time of  King Aethelbald of Mercia. The church of St Werburgh Church Street Hoo St Werburgh has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building

The graveyard contains the grave of Thomas Aveling the first British manufacturer of Aveling and Porter steam rollers.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 2-16 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Hoo St Werburgh North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship and Hoo St Werburgh

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Hoo sub district Chatham Registration District

and registrations from July 1837 to the present day are held at

Medway district
The Register Office
Northgate
Rochester
ME1 1LS
Telephone 01634 338902
Fax 01634 338913
register.office@medway.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hoo St Werburgh, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[8]
Hoo St Werburgh, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1875-1879


FMP

1677-1994
FREG 1587-1600, 1813-1987
1588-1600, 1810-1987
1587-1640, 1813-1946
FS BTs 1719-1879 1719-1879 1719-1879
FS PRs 1640-1874 1640-1837; 1754-1889 (banns) 1640-1877
IGI 1587-1599, 1642-1874 1588-1599, 1640-1837
MED 1587-1987 1587-1987 1587-1987

International Genealogical Index Batch Numbers

  • Christenings 1587-1599 Batch C131461
  • Christenings 1642-1874 Batch C131462
  • Marriages 1588-1599 Batch M131461
  • Marriages 1640-1837 Batch M131462

Land Tax

Images for Hoo available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

The images may be found under the Waypoint Kent>Hoo near Strood later images identify the parish of Hoo in the division of North Aylesford. A further series of images under the way point Kent>Hoo near Rochester are for the parish of St Mary Hoo, Kent

Both of these image sets are derived from a single 1987 microfilm of Kent Archives bundle reference Q/RPL/181.

Census records

Census return for Hoo St Werburgh 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hoo Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 14:45.
  • This page has been accessed 3,464 times.