Hooe, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hooe, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hailsham|
|Parish registers: 1609|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
HOOE (St. James), a parish, in the union of Hailsham, hundred of Ninfield, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 8 miles (S. W.) from Battle.
Hooe St Oswald is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex. The civil parish is centred upon the larger settlement of Hooe Common rather than the church location which is probaby indicative a lost settlement in the fields around the church.
A history of the Church Hooe St Oswald
The Parish church of St Oswald Church Lane Hooe has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see Hailsham registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex,The Register Office, Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780Fax 01323 431386 email email@example.com
Hooe, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Hooe, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hooe
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 19:50.
- This page has been accessed 2,635 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News