Hoose, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Hoose

Guide to Hoose, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish history

HOOSE, or Hoylake, is a village, a township, and a chapelry in West Kirby parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the coast, near the mouth of the Dee estuary, it is 7½ miles W by N of Birkenhead; it has a post office, by the name of Hoylake, under Birkenhead. A roadstead, called Hoylake, originally Hoyle-Lake, is opposite the village. The chapelry was constituted in 1860; and is larger than the township.[1]

Hoose is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1839 from West Kirby Ancient Parish.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church Records

Hoose parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Hoose Parish (1834) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1837-1906


FS PR's 1903-1909
  NONE
1864-1934
  NONE
1834-1921
  NONE
FS BT'S 1893-1909
  NONE
1840-1840
  NONE
1834-1911
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office no.: P80/1/1-5, P80/2/1-6, P80/3/1-4, P80/4/1-2.

Parish registers for Hoylake, 1834-1952 (Church of England. Parish Church of Hoose) Film
Baptisms, 1834-1903; Marriages, 1834-1835.
1656399 Items 9 - 12
Marriages, 1837-1844, 1862-1912. Burials, 1834-1910. Banns, 1834-1844, 1862-1909
1656400 Items 1 - 7
Baptisms, 1903-1919.
2191048 Items 9 - 10
Marriages, 1912-1952. Burials, 1910-1921.
2191574 Items 1 - 4

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office: P80/10/1-5.

Parish registers for St. Hildeburgh's Mission Church, Hoose, 1899-1950 (Church of England. St. Hildeburgh's Church) (Hoose, Cheshire) Film
Marriages, 1899-1950
2191048 Items 4 - 8


Bishop's transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 114

Bishop's transcripts for Hoose, 1834-1911 Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1834-1836, baptisms, 1838, burials, 1837, baptisms, burials, 1837-1839, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1840, baptisms, 1842, 1841, baptisms, burials, 1871-1880, baptisms, 1881-1882, burials, 1881-1882, baptisms, 1883-1884, burials, 1883-1884, baptisms, 1885-1886, burials, 1885-1888, baptisms, 1887-1888, burials, 1887-1888, baptisms, burials, 1894, 1893, 1896, 1895, 1897-1899, baptisms, 1900.
1647432 Item 3
Baptisms, burials, 1900-1911.
1647433 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist  

Non-Conformist records:

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers: Cheshire Record Office: EMS 147/1

Church records for St. Luke's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Hoylake, 1884-1948
Film
Baptisms, 1884-1948. 1594191 Item 7
Baptisms, 1884-1948 (another filming). 2299472 Item 5

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837–94)

Poor Law Union

  • Wirral

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 8 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,626 times.