Hope, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Hope, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hope, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOPE, a chapelry in Shelton township, Hanley borough, Stoke-upon-Trent parish, Stafford; near the Stoke station of the Northwestern railway, and forming part of the Potteries. It was constituted in 1845; and its post town is Hanley, under Stoke-upon-Trent. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hope Holy Trinity was formed in 1845 part of Shelton, Staffordshire EP United with Hanley St john circa 1940 and church closed.

Hope parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
HOPE PARISH (1848) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1848-1903
1848-1892

FMP 1848-1901 1848-1901 1850-1900 1850-1900
FS 1848-1903


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1848-1939 Mar 1850-1940 Bur No burial ground
Lichfield Record Office no holdings of Bishop’s Transcripts

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Stoke Upon Trent Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,264 times.