Hopton Castle, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Hopton Castle, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hopton Castle, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Purslow
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Clun PLU
Registration District Clun
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clun
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOPTON, CASTLE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Clun, hundred of Purslow, S. division of Shropshire, 12 miles (W. by N.) from Ludlow. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hopton Castle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
HOPTON CASTLE PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1549-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
IGI 1538-1850 1549-1849
JOIN
1550-1812

MLOC 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474588.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/HoptonCastle/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-547. Date accessed: 18 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 August 2014, at 17:16.
  • This page has been accessed 1,265 times.