Hordley, Shropshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hordley, Shropshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Hordley, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hordley, Shropshire
St Mary the Virgin Hordley Shropshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pimhill
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Ellesmere
Registration District Ellesmere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ellesmere
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office


Parish History

HORDLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Ellesmere, hundred of Pimhill, N. division of Shropshire, 3 miles (S. S. W.) from Ellesmere. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hordley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
HORDLEY PARISH (1686) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1686-1812
IGI 1634-1869 1686-1837

MLOC 1686-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1634-1869 Marr 1634-1837Bur 1634-1869

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474588.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 547-550. Date accessed: 19 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
  7. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 15:51.
  • This page has been accessed 2,797 times.