Hornby, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Hornby, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hornby, Lancashire
St Margret Hornby.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Caton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742
Bishop's Transcripts: 1742
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HORNBY (St Margaret), a township and chapelry, and formerly a market-town, in the parish of Melling, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 9 miles (N. E.) from Lancaster. The chapel of Hornby was built by 1742. Other places in the parish include: Farleton. There is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

A church was on the site in 1338. The oldest part of the current church is the octagonal tower which was built by Sir Edward Stanley, Lord Mounteagle, in 1514. Lord Mounteagle also arranged for the rebuilding of the chancel but this was incomplete when he died in 1524. In 1817 the old nave was demolished and replaced by a new nave. In 1889 a restoration was carried out by Paley, Austin and Paley. This consisted of the erection of north and south arcades and a clerestory, the removal of the west gallery, and the replacement of box pews by modern seating.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Hornby chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Melling to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


HORNBY ST MARGARET Chapelry (1742) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1742-1789 None None
LOPC 1742-1900 1743-1748  1763-1789
LBMD None 1859-1998 None
FREG 1742-1790 1743; 1748 1763-1789
MELLING ST WILFRID(ancient parish containing HORNBY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1720-1902 1752-1935 1836-1861
LOPC None 1754-1920 1786-1812
FMP  None 1636-1837 - part. None
LBMD None 1837-1982 None 
AC 1625-1752 1625-1752 1625-1752


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Hornby and comprising the whole ancient parish of Melling to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MELLING ST WILFRID PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Bibliography

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus (2002) [1969], The Buildings of England: North Lancashire, New Haven & London: Yale University Press, pp. 146–147, ISBN 0 300 09617 8

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 547-550. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,027 times.