Hornby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hornby

Hornby, Yorkshire
St Mary Hornby Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Leyburn PLU
Registration District Bedale; Leyburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1681
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hornby is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Ainderby Meyers with Holtby, Ainderby Miers, Hackforth, Arrathorne, and Ainderby Myers with Holtby.

HORNBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Leyburn, wapentake of Hang-East, N. riding of York;containing, with the townships of Ainderby-Myers with Holtby, and Hackforth, 309 inhabitants, of whom 87 are in the township of Hornby, 5 miles (S. S. W.) from Catterick. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Hornby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
HORNBY PARISH (1714) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1714-1824

1714-1846

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Hornby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HORNBY PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.

Poor Law Unions

Leyburn Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 547-550. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,118 times.