Horne, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Surrey go to Surrey Parishes


Horne, Surrey
Horne St+Mary+the+Virgin Surrey.JPG
Horne St+Mary+the+Virgin Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tandridge
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Godstone PLU
Registration District Godstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ewell
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Godstone, First division of the hundred of Tandridge, E. division of Surrey, 5½ miles (S. S. W.) from Godstone.[1]

Additional information:

Horne is a village and civil parish in the Tandridge district of Surrey Horne Surrey Wikipedia

Horne St Mary the Virgin is an Ecclesiastical parish formed in 1705 from an ancient chapelry in Bletchingley, Surrey Ancient Parish. The Parish is in the Diocese of Southwark. A map of the ecclesiastical parish boundary is available at A church near you Part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Worth, Sussex and East Grinstead, Sussex and Surrey neighbour Burstow, Surrey which includes Smallfield.

A history of the church is found A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 4 (1912), pp. 291-296. at British History Online

Horne St Mary the Virgin dates from the thirteenth century and has been designated as a grade II* listed building by English Heritage.British listed building

The civil parish boundary also includes Newchapel see Newchapel Surrey Wikipedia whose most notable feature is the London Temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints which stands at the side of the A22 London-Eastbourne Road at the Newchapel roundabout.
This building is not open to the general public but does include a Visitor Centre which explains the beliefs of the church and displays the history of the temple building which was constructed in the 1950's and dedicated in 1958.

See also London England Temple Wikipedia and Newchapel Surrey Wikipedia

Also within the civil parish is the British Wildlife Centre British Wildlife Centre website

Resources

Civil Registration

Godstone Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Horne, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1614
1614
1614
Indexes 1614-1667 FamilySearch[2] 1614-1837 FamilySearch[3] 1614-1840 FindMyPast[4]
1614-1694
1711-1854
Ancestry[5] 1643-1837
(gaps)

Ancestry[6]

1709-1710 FindMyPast[7]

'The registers previous to 1812 are in six volumes: (1) baptisms 1614 to 1694, burials 1614 to 1710, marriages 1643 to 1710. The burials from 1678 have been transcribed from another volume. (2) burials 1678 to 1742; (3) baptisms and burials 1711 to 1787, marriages 1711 to 1753; (4) marriages 1754 to 1781; (5) baptisms and burials 1783 to 1812; (6) marriages 1783 to 1812.'[8]

Deposited parish registers at the Surrey History Centre Baptisms 1614-2001 Marriages 1642-2000 Burials 1614-1888

Transcripts are available of the parish registers for baptisms and burials for 1614-1840 and the

Surrey History Centre, 130 Goldsworth Road, Woking GU21 6ND offers microfilm for years of the LDS filming (see below) and will produce originals for later registers.

Link to the Family History Library films in their collection Horne which has two filmings in 1950 and 1982 the latter contains General register (baptisms, marriages, burials), 1614-1711; burials, 1678-1742; general register (baptisms, 1709-1787; marriages, 1709-1753; banns, 1754-1805; burials, 1709-1787); marriages, 1754-1805; baptisms and burials, 1783-1813; marriages, 1783-1812; baptisms, 1813-1854; marriages, 1813-1837; burials, 1813-1888.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474664.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal: Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.



Poor Law Unions

A parish workhouse existed in the parish in the 1790's; an index for the parish records has been prepared by volunteers at the Surrey History Centre, 130 Goldsworth Road, Woking, Surrey GU21 6ND ref(BG5/55/1-14)

Godstone Poor Law Union,Surrey

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[9]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 February 2014.
  2. Batch P020341, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batch M020342, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 15 April 2012.
  7. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  8. H E Malden, A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 4 (1912), pp. 291-296. at British History Online
  9. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 4,715 times.