Horning, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Horning, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horning, Norfolk
Horning St Benedict.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tunstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Tunstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORNING, a village and a parish in Tunstead district, Norfolk. The village stands on the river Bure, 5½ miles NNE of Brundall. [1]
Horning St Benedict is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich and includes Holme and Cowholme.

Parts of the church hint at earlier churches on the site as far back as the 13th century but the church today was a result of Victorian renovation.

In the heart of the Norfolk Broads and one of the pleasure boating centres of tourism Horning is a popular church.

Horning was once called Horningham and means the "folk who live on the high ground between the rivers". Its history dates back to 1020 when the manor was given by King Canute to the newly founded Abbey of St Benet. In 1642 Horning was sold to a London merchant, who felled 400 acres of oak woodland, known as Horning Great Wood. In 1658 Horning was sold again, this time to a London haberdasher. In 1660 came the Restoration of the monarchy and the Bishop took control. To this the day, the Bishop of Norwich as Abbot of St. Benet's is still Lord of the Manor.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Church records

Horning, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Horning, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1754

FREG 1559-1812
1559-1812
1559-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 692

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1810 Burials 1725-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526820 Item 1

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438866.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Horning.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/smallburgh_workhouse.htm

 Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 02:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,318 times.