Hornsey St Mary, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes

Guide to Hornsey St Mary, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hornsey St Mary, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Edmonton PLU
Registration District Edmonton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORNSEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Edmonton, Finsbury division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 6 miles (N. by W.) from London; There is a small neatchapel at Crouch-End which is also a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

'HORNSEY, a metropolitan suburb, a parish, and a sub-district, in Edmonton district, Middlesex, 5½ miles north by northwest of St. Paul's Cathedral, London. At Domesday it was known as Haringe, or later, as Harringay.

'See also Crouch-End, Fortis-Green, Muswell-Hill, StroudGreen, and part of Highgate--each with chapels attached to them.' Here's a A Comprehensive List of Chapels in Pre-1900 Hornsey St Mary.

'Also built here, was an Independent chapel.'[2]

Church records

Online Hornsey St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1653
1653
1653
Images
1653-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1813-1890 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1653-1666 BritishOrigins[6] 1650-1812 FindMyPast[7]
1701-1812 BritishOrigins[8]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[9]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438779.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Topsfield Manor (1466-1781) in Hornsey Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 550-553. Adapted. Date accessed: 29 January 2014.fckLR
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (Edinburgh: A, Fullerton and Co., 1870). Online here.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Hornsey in Haringey Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hornsey St Mary in Haringey Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hornsey St Mary in Haringey Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  7. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  8. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 October 2014, at 20:56.
  • This page has been accessed 5,358 times.