Horsford, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Horsford, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horsford, Norfolk
Horsford All Saints.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Taverham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union St Faith's PLU
Registration District St Faiths
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taverham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORSFORD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of St. Faith, hundred of Taverham, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from Norwich. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]
Horsford All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

A medieval church which in the gable end tiling has the year 1703 as an indication of a restoration possibly linked to a fierce storm in that year.

More recent renovation includes a new organ.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • St.Faith's

Church records

Horsford, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Horsford, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1812
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS ATs 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Norfolk Record Office reference unknown parish records remain in parish with incumbent

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials 1601-1609, 1623-1637, 1668-1812 Marriages 1601-1609, 1623-1636, 1668-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526784 Item 1

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438860.

Poor Law Unions

St Faith's      http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/st_faith_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 553-557. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 02:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,513 times.