Horsham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Horsham, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horsham, Sussex
Horsham St Mary the Virgin Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Singlecross
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Horsham PLU
Registration District Horsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540; Separate registers exist for Southwater beginning 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571; Separate records exist for Southwater beginning 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring; Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORSHAM (St. Mary), a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Singlecross, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 29 miles (N. E.) from Chichester, and 36 (S. S. W.) from London;  There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Horsham St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient parish in West Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Broadbridge Heath, Southwater, Roughy, and Roffey.

From this parish were formed subsequent ecclesiastical parishes in the town and extensive parish.For an introduction the parish development see Horsham church history

The ancient parish of St Mary Horsham St Mary

The Ancient Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Subsequent parishes developed in Horsham see:

Horsham Holy Trinity

Horsham St Mark Carfax

Horsham St John Broadridge Heath

Horsham St Leonard

Horsham St Mark, North Heath Lane

Horsham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Horsham St John the Evangelist Chapel see List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

See also:

Roffey All Saints which was formed from this parish Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and Roffey St Andrew Methodist Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Southwater Holy Innocents Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Southwater Wikipedia Southwater Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also All Saints Church Roffey Wikipedia and list of places to worship in Horsham district Wikipedia

Horsham Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 553-557. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Horsham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
HORSHAM PARISH (1540) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1540-1635 1541-1635 1540-1583
IGI 1540-1876 1541-1875
PRTS 1541-1903
1541-1902
1541-1901
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Roffey registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ROFFEY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1878-1905
1879-1901

Southwater parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOUTHWATER Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1850-1878 1853-1875
PRTS 1850-1901
1853-1901
1850-1901

Horsham St. Mary records held at West Sussex Record Office
Bap 1540-1962
Marr 1541-1965
Bur 1540-1931
Bishop’s transcripts 1571-1883
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Horsham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Horsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Horsham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 553-557. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.


For church history in the Horsham area Horsham: Churches', A History of the County of Sussex: Volume 6 Part 2: Bramber Rape (North-Western Part) including Horsham (1986), pp. 190-195. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=18355&strquery=Horsham Date accessed: 03 May 2011.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 September 2014, at 15:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,579 times.