Horsmonden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Horsmonden, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horsmonden, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brenchley and Horsemonden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tunbridge PLU
Registration District Tunbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORSEMONDEN (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Tonbridge, hundred of Brenchley and Horsemonden, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 2¾ miles (N. E. by N.) from Lamberhurst.[1]


Horsmonden is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent. The early 14th century church of St Margaret in Brick Kiln Land is distant from the main settlement of the village Horsmonden Wikipedia

The parish of St Margaret Horsmonden is an Ancient Parish which included the hamlets of Rams Hill, Sherenden and Caple Cross.

The Parish church of St Margaret has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 280 at British History Online and The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 311-322 Horsmonden Parish

There is an 1848 Gazeteer entry; A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 553-557. here and Kent Online Parish Clerks (See link below) have other gazetteer entries. 

Resources

Civil Registration

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Horsmonden, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Horsmonden, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1558-1732, 1850-1875
1558-1732

FS BTs 1716-1904 1716-1904 1716-1904
FS PRs 1558-1876 1558-1812; 1754-1876 (banns) 1558-1839
IGI 1733-1875 1558-1876

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Brenchley, Kent, Horsmonden, Kent Pembury, Kent and Yalding, Kent available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

The Family History Library describes the microfilm from which images are derived:

"Brenchley in items 6-8, Horsemonden and Pembury in item 7, and Yalding in item 8. These four localities are included in the borough of Badmonden".

Edward Hasted refers to Badmonden as manorial land The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 311-322 at British History Online

Microfilmed at Kent Archives  reference: Q/RPL/48-50.

Images for Borough of Yalding are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831 The borough of Yalding comprised  Yalding, Kent, Horsmonden Brenchley, Kent and Hunton, Kent within the Land Tax bundle at the Centre for Kentish Studies Maidstone

The Family History Library describes the 1987 microfilming from which images are derived:

"Yalding, Horsmonden, Brenchley and Hunton are all common to the tax district with the borough of Yalding".

Kent Archives reference: Q/RPL/436.


Census records

Census returns for Horsmonden 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 553-557. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,403 times.