Horsted Keynes, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Horsted Keynes, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horsted Keynes, Sussex
St Giles Horsted Keynes West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Danehill Horsted
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1638
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORSTED-KEYNES (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Danehill-Horsted, rape of Pevensey. E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (E. N. E.) from Cuckfield; There is a place of worship for Baptists at Danehill. A free school was founded, and endowed with an estate.[1]

Horsted Keynes St Giles is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex.

Church History Horsted Keynes St Giles

The Parish church of St Giles has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Prime Minister Harold Macmillan was buried in the churchyard of St Giles after his death in December 1986, alongside his wife Dorothy, who died 20 years previously. Harold Macmillan 1894-1986

Horsted Keynes Suusex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Horsted Keynes Wikipedia Horsted Keynes railway station and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 553-557. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records

Horsted Keynes, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Horsted Keynes, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1605-1876 1605-1875

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1638-1943 Marr 1638-1946 Bur 1638-1948 Bishop's Transcripts 1605-1893


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Horsted Keynes

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/HorstedKeynes/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 553-557. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,570 times.