Horton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Horton, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horton, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Tynemouth PLU
Registration District Tynemouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1648
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Morpeth
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HORTON, a parochial chapelry, in the union of Tynemouth, E. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland; containing, with the townships of Bebside, Cowpen, and East and West Hartford. The chapelry is bounded on the north by the Blyth river. The chapelry formed part of Woodhorn parish until 1768, when it was abscinded. The old chapel was taken down in 1827, and a new structure erected on its site.[1]

Additional information:

Horton St Mary The Virgin was created in 1734 from a parochial chapelry in Woodhorn, Northumberland Ancient Parish and included: Bebside, Cowpen, East Hartford, and West Hartford.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special CollectionsReference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/140 Date: 1762-1856   Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events

Horton, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1648-1944, marriages 1660-1987 and burials 1725-1985 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1649-1944, marriages 1660-1970, banns 1754-1809, 1853-1863, 1903-1913, and burials 1725-1956 can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1648-1812 and marriages 1660-1809 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1660-1809 and banns 1754-1809. Transcripts of baptisms 1648-1812, marriages 1660-1812 and burials 1725-1812 for Horton are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. Transcripts of monumental inscriptions at Horton (microfiche TN72 and TN86) are published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438886.

Poor Law Unions

Tynemouth Poor Law Union,Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,027 times.