Hot Spring County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Hot Spring County

Guide to Hot Spring County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Arkansas County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Arkansas County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 2, 1829
County Seat Malvern
Courthouse
Address Hot Spring County Courthouse
210 Locust Street
Malvern, AR 72104
Phone: 501.332.2291

Contents

County Courthouse

Hot Spring County Courthouse
210 Locust Street
Malvern, AR 72104
Phone: 501.332.2291

County Clerk has marriage records from 1825 and probate records from 1834; Clerk Circuit Court has court and divorce records.[1]

Beginning years for Hot Spring County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1825 1914* 1843 1831 1834
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

  • The County was named for the hot springs at Hot Springs, located within the county.
  • The county is a "dry county", no alcohol allowed.

Parent County

Boundary Changes

Parts were set off to create following new counties:

  • Montgomery 9 December 1842
  • Grant 4 February 1869
  • Garland 5 April 1873
  • Part of Garland County was returned to Hot Springs later in 1873.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Towns
  • Donaldson
  • Friendship
  • Magnet Cove
  • Malvern
  • Midway
  • Perla
  • Rockport
Census Districts and Unincorporated Towns
  • Abco
  • Antioch
  • Beaton
  • Bismarck
  • Bonnerdale
  • Brown Springs
  • Butterfield
  • Caney
  • Central
  • Cross Roads
  • De Roche
  • Diamondhead
  • Gifford
  • Glen Rose
  • Harp
  • Jones Mills
  • Lambert
  • Landers
  • Lono
  • Morning Star
  • Mount Moriah
  • Oak Grove
  • Point Cedar
  • Rolla
  • Saginaw
  • Shorewood Hills
  • Social Hill
  • Whittington
  • Witherspoon
Communities
  • Faber
  • Oak Bower
  • Old De Roche


Neighboring Counties

Clark  • Dallas  • Garland  • Grant  • Montgomery  • Saline

Hot Spring CountyGrant CountyCleveland CountyDallas CountyClark CountyPike CountyMontgomery CountyGarland CountySaline CountyPulaski CountyJefferson CountyOuachita CountyNevada CountyHempstead CountyHoward CountyPolk CountyScott CountyYell CountyPerry CountyARHot Spring.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Hot Spring County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hot Spring County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The Caddo tribe lived in this area until around AD 1700
  • Beginning in 1673, many French explorers visited the area.
  • 1818 - The Quapaw tribe ceded control of the lands surrounding the forty-three hot springs to the United States.
  • 1829 November 2 - Hot Spring County was established by an act of the territorial legislature with land taken from Clark County.
  • 1865 (and after) - Hot Springs thrived after the Civil War, unlike many other Arkansas towns.
  • 1850s-1870s - River transportation was becoming less important as the railroad moved west.
  • 1879 October 15 - The popularity of river travel yielded to the efficiency of rail, and fast-growing Malvern officially replaced neighboring Rockport as the county seat.
  • 1945 - World War II brought an unprecedented demand for the barite found in Hot Spring County—the solid deposits of barite were useful in oil-well drilling. Following the war, various industries were established in the county.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Hot Spring County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hot Spring County, Arkansas:

- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company F
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate),
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company D

Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[3] and the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate).[4]

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hot Spring County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

How_to_Use_Probate_RecordsProbate Legal Scales.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1834-1945 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds 1866-1869; Administration, executor and guardian records 1858-1945; Guardian bonds and letters 1834-1850; Letters of administration 1862-1871; Probate record index 1883-1887; Probate records 1839-1895; Wills 1879-1930.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Hot Spring County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Hot Spring County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Hot Spring County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Hot Spring County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Hot Spring County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), pp. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  4. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to Tie To: the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A.,(Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10. FHL book 976.7 M2c
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 October 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 8,508 times.