Hot Springs County, WyomingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Hot Springs County

Guide to Hot Springs County, Wyoming ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wyoming
Online Records


Hot Springs County, Wyoming
Map
Map of Wyoming highlighting Hot Springs County
Location in the state of Wyoming
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wyoming
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 9, 1911
County Seat Thermopolis
Courthouse
Address Hot Springs County Courthouse
415 Arapahoe Street
Thermopolis, WY 82443
Phone: 307.864.3515
Hot Springs County Website



Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
----*
1913*
----*
1893
1912
1911
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent County: Hot Springs County was originally included in Fremont County. In 1890 Big Horn County was split off Fremont which included Hot Springs. Then in 1911 Hot Springs County was split off Big Horn.Big Horn County
  • County seat: Thermopolis [1]
  • Neighboring Counties: Fremont | [[[Park County, Wyoming|Park]] | Washakie

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Hot Springs County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Thermopolis-Gebo

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Hot Springs County, Wyoming. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps

Wyhotsprings.jpg

Migration

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hot Springs County, Wyoming newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Albany - Probate records.

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wyoming Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

County clerk has marriage records from 1913 and land records; clerk district court has divorce, probate and court records; land records; land records transcribed from Fremont County[2]

Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Wyomong Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Websites

Places

East Thermopolis Kirby Minnesota Red Lane
Grass Creek Lucerne Owl Creek Thermopolis
Hamilton Dome


References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Hot Springs County, Wyoming

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 18:03.
  • This page has been accessed 9,750 times.