Hougham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hougham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hougham, Kent
Church Hougham St Lawrence Kent.jpg
Church Hougham St Lawrence Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOUGHAM (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Dovor, partly in the hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, and partly within the jurisdiction of the cinque-port liberty of Dovor, E. division of Kent; comprising a small part of the town of Dovor. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Hougham Without is a civil parish in the Dover District of Kent, see Hougham Without Wikipedia

Hougham St Lawrence (sometimes St Laurence) is an Ancient Parish which includes Poulton. A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you Edward Hasted describes Poulton or Polton The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 444-451. Date accessed: 15 August 2013. at British History Online

The civil parish of Hougham Without ( to distinguish from Hougham-in-Dover, Kent ) includes Church Hougham site of the parish church and West Hougham collectively known as Hougham.

The church dates from 1100-1150 and was restored by Messenger in 1866.The Parish Church of St Lawrence Hougham Without, Church Lane, Hougham Without has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See Kent Churches website

The modern parish is part of the Alkham with Capel le Ferne and Hougham benefice.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 451-462 at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hougham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Hougham, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1659-1861 1659-1861 1755-1869 (Banns) 1755-1869 (Banns) 1659-1865 1659-1865

Land Tax

Images for both Hougham and Poulton are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306862.




Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 559-562. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,727 times.