Houghton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Houghton, Sussex
Houghton St Nicholas West Sussex.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bury
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; For more records see Amberley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HOUGHTON, a parish, in the hundred of Bury, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from the town of Arundel.[1]. See also[2].

The parish church of St Nicholas has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Houghton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Houghton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1560-1900
1560-1900
1560-1900

Houghton St Nicholas

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1560-1999 Marr 1560-1993 Bur 1560-1998

Bishop's Transcripts 1591-1850

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Houghton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 562-566. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, A Vision of Britain through Time, (1870-72). Date accessed: 23 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 874 times.