Houston County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Houston County
Guide to Houston County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Houston County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 9, 1903 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Dothan |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Houston County Courthouse 462 North Oats Street Dothan, AL 36303 Phone: (334) 677-4805 County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Health Department has birth, death and burial records
Probate Office has marriage, probate and land records from 1903
Clerk Circuit Court has court records from 1903
Registrar in Chancery has divorce records from 1903 [1]
History
Parent County
1903--Houston County was created 9 February 1903 from Dale, Geneva and Henry Counties.
County seat: Dothan [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
- Dale
- Early County, Georgia
- Geneva
- Henry
- Holmes County, Florida
- Jackson County, Florida
- Seminole County, Georgia
Resources
Cemeteries
- Antioch Cemetery
- Ashford City Cemetery
- Bay Springs Cemetery
- Bethlehem Cemetery
- Beulah Cemetery Information about cemetery.
- Beulah Cemetery, Dothan BillionGraves, with data and photos.
- Bluff Springs Baptist Church Cemetery
- Bluff Springs Cemetery
- Cedar Springs Cemetery
- Clark Cemetery
- Clayton Cemetery
- Cowarts Cemetery
- Cowarts Creek Cemetery
- Crestlawn Cemetery
- Dothan City Cemetery Information about cemetery
- Dothan City Cemetery, Dothan BillionGraves, with photos and data.
- Friendship Cemetery
- Gardens of Memory Cemetery
- Gates of Heaven Cemetery
- Gordon Cemetery
- Hunters Cemetery
- Hurts Chapel Cemetery
- Lassiter Cemetery
- Liberty Cemetery
- Little Vine Cemetery
- Memory Hill Cemetery
- Memphis Baptist Church Cemetery
- Memphis Cemetery
- Mount Gilead Cemetery
- Mount Pleasant Cemetery
- Mount Zion Cemetery
- New Corinth Cemetery
- Piney Grove Cemetery
- Piney Grove Church Cemetery
- Poplar Spring Cemetery
- Registers Cemetery
- Rocky Creek Cemetery
- Rocky Creek United Methodist Church Cemetery
- Saint Phillips Cemetery
- Saint Stephen's AME Church Cemetery
- Saint Stephens Cemetery
- Sanders Cemetery
- Selma Cemetery
- Shady Grove Cemetery
- Shiloh Cemetery
- Smith Cemetery
- Union Springs Cemetery
- Webb Cemetery
- Houston County, Alabama, Cemetery Records. 1957. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Antioch Baptist Church Cemetery, Center Baptist Church Cemetery, Christian Home Cemetery, First Freewill Cemetery, Harpers Joy Cemetery, Hodgesville Cemetery, New Hope Primitive Cemetery, New Providence Cemetery, Robinson Family Cemetery, Rocky Creek Methodist Cemetery, Smith Family Cemetery, Spring Hill Freewill Cemetery, and Union Springs Cemetery.
Additional Houston County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1910 | 32,414 | ||
| 1920 | 37,334 | 15.2% | |
| 1930 | 45,935 | 23.0% | |
| 1940 | 45,665 | −0.6% | |
| 1950 | 46,522 | 1.9% | |
| 1960 | 50,718 | 9.0% | |
| 1970 | 56,574 | 11.5% | |
| 1980 | 74,632 | 31.9% | |
| 1990 | 81,331 | 9.0% | |
| 2000 | 88,787 | 9.2% | |
| 2010 | 101,547 | 14.4% | |
| Est. 2011 | 102,369 | 15.3% | |
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
- 1908-15, 1926, 1928-36, 1943-51 - The Dothan Eagle (Dothan, Ala.) at Ancestry ($).
Probate Records
Taxation
Vital Records
- Houston County Vital Records at ALGenWeb - free
Birth
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1903-1931 - Houston County Marriage Books 1-8 Index 1903-1931 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Houston-Love Memorial Library
212 W Burdeshaw St.
P.O. Box 1369
Dothan, Alabama 36303
Telephone: 334-793-9767
Family History Center
Dothan Alabama
3199 Ross Clark Cir NW
Dothan, Houston, Alabama, United States
Phone: 334-793-7425
Enterprise Alabama
110 Shell Field Rd
Enterprise, Houston , Alabama, United States
Phone: 334-347-3631
Houston County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Houston County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Houston County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Houston County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County p. 37. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 23:42.
- This page has been accessed 1,844 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
