Howard County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Howard County

Guide to Howard County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Howard County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1844
County Seat Kokomo
Courthouse
Address Howard County Courthouse
104 N Buckeye St
PO Box 9004
Kokomo, IN 46904
Ph. 765.456.2204
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1875*
1844*
1875*
1846
1844
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed from unorganized territory (Carroll/Cass/Miami) in 1844. Named changed from Richardville to Howard in 1846. [1]
  • County Seat: Kokomo [2]


Neighboring Counties

Carroll  • Cass  • Miami  • Grant  • Tipton  • Clinton


Miami CountyGrant CountyWabash CountyCarroll CountyClinton CountyTippecanoe CountyWhite CountyCass CountyTipton CountyMadison CountyHoward CountyINHoward.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Howard County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Howard County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Howard County.

Civil War Books

  • Howard in The Civil War" in Morrow, Jackson. 1909. History of Howard County, Indiana. (Indianapolis: B.F. Bowen), (page 130-196, Regiment; "Soldiers Who Died In The Serive" page 188-196)  other libraries  vol.1  INTERNET ARCHIVE  vol. 2 INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Smith, Kent A.Russiaville in the Civil War:a Civil War history of Honey Creek Township, Howard County, Indiana and its residents FHL book 977.285/R1 m2s

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

Howard County; 104 N Buckeye St; PO Box 9004; Kokomo, IN 46904; Ph. 765.456.2204 Details: (Formerly Richardville Co. Name changed to Howard 28 Dec 1846) (Co Clk has m, div, pro & ct rec from 1844; Co Redr has land rec; Co Hlth dept has b, d & bur rec)

Archives
Libraries

Kokomo-Howard County Public Library
220 North Union Street, Kokomo, IN 46901-4614
765-457-3242
info@khcpl.org
Genealogy and Local History Department

Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Vital Records for Howard County - Linkpendium
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • The Howard County Memory Project website has digitized collections, such as marriage records, newspaper collections, etc. for genealogy and local history researchers.
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records



Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Places

  • Kokomo
  • Greentown
  • Russiaville
  • Indian Heights

Townships

  • Center
  • Clay
  • Ervin
  • Harrison
  • Honey Creek
  • Howard
  • Jackson
  • Liberty
  • Monroe
  • Taylor
  • Union

Other places

  • Alto
  • Cassville
  • Center
  • Hemlock
  • New London
  • Oakford
  • Phlox
  • West Middleton

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 15,193 times.