Howard County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Howard County

Guide to Howard County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Howard County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 13, 1816
County Seat Fayette
Courthouse
Address Howard County Courthouse
#1 Courthouse Square
Fayette, MO 65248
Phone: 660.248.2284
Howard County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Clerk Circuit Court has birth recordsc 1870-1955,
marriage and court records from 1870, land and burial
records from 1820, military and divorce records from 1900;
Probate Court has probate records from 1835; County
Health Nurse has death records from 1870[1]

History

Parent County

1816--Howard County was created 13 January 1816 from St. Charles and St. Louis Counties. County seat: Fayette [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone  • Chariton  • Cooper  • Randolph  • Saline

Howard CountyAudrain CountyBoone CountyCallaway CountyMoniteau CountyCooper CountyCole CountyOsage CountyMorgan CountyPettis CountyBenton CountyHenry CountySaline CountyChariton CountyLafayette CountyCarroll CountyJohnson CountyLivingston CountyMacon CountyShelby CountyMarion CountyMonroe CountyLinn CountyRandolph CountyMOHoward.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Immaculate Conception, Richmond

  • 1870-1876 - Immaculate Conception, Richmond, Baptism Index 1870-1876. Batch C511971 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Howard County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mohoward.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Howard County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Moberly newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Howard County communities.
  • Missouri Intelligencer, 1819-1835 (Franklin, Howard County, Missouri) Searchable online at the State Historical Society of Missouri’s Digital Collections, Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1883-1893 - Howard County Birth Index 1883-1893. Batch C001967 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1865-1878 - Howard County Birth Index, Volume 4A, 1865-1878. Batch C515182 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1816-1861 - Howard County Marriage Index 1816-1860. Batches M515184 and M515181 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1865-1885 - Howard County Marriage Book 4A Index 1865-1885. Batch M515182 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Howard County Marriage Book 1 Index 1881-1885. Batch M515183 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1888 - Howard County Death Index 1883-1888. Batch B515185 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Societies

Howard County Missouri Genealogical Society Facebook link.

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Howard County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Howard County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Howard County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Howard County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Howard County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Howard County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Howard County, Missouri. Page 401 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 18:51.
  • This page has been accessed 7,307 times.