Howden, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Howden, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Howden, Yorkshire Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Howden PLU|
|Parish registers: 1541|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Durham within the Jurisdiction of Howden and Howdenshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
HOWDEN (St. Peter), a parish and market-town [with two chapels of ease by 1848; see highlighted below], and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Howdenshire, E. riding of York; comprising the chapelries of Barmby-on-the-Marsh and Laxton, and the townships of Asselby, Balkholme, Belby, Cotness, Howden, Kilpin, Knedlington, Metham, Saltmarsh, Skelton, Thorpe, and Yorkfleet, 21 miles (S. E. by S.) from York, and 184 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Sandemanians.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Howden exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|HOWDEN PARISH (1541) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Howden to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 17 January 2015, at 16:29.
- This page has been accessed 2,943 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More