Howell, IdahoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records. The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Archives is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census. Latah County is included in this reconstructed census.
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Latah County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Moscow.
There are many cemeteries in Latah County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Latah County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
The following is the only local congregation (ward) of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints which existed in Latah County, Idaho prior to 1950. Many of the original records of church units are in the Historical Library in Salt Lake City. Many of the membership records covering these units from the date of their creation to about 1948 have been microfilmed and are available at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City.
County Commissioners' Records
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Some of the early court records of Latah County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library'sFamily History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Latah County courthouse in Moscow, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Latah County that have been microfilmed include:
- Court records, 1889-1939
- Power of attorney, 1879-1947; index, 1879-1986
- Judgments, 1889-1942
Brief histories of the county and of several towns within the county are available online on the Latah County Historical Society's website.
The digitized book An illustrated history of north Idaho : embracing Nez Perces, Idaho, Latah, Kootenai and Shoshone counties, state of Idaho is available online at archive.org.
Land and Property
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Latah County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Moscow, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Latah County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed originals of the following records found in the Latah County Courthouse in Moscow, Idaho which can be accessed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
- Declaration of homesteads, 1888-1918; index, 1884-1986
- Deeds, 1888-1907; index, 1888-1906
- Orders affecting real estate, 1881-1933; index, 1888-1986 (from Probate Court)
- An 1895 map of Latah and surrounding counties is available online.
- A digital Latah County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Latah County, Idaho is available online.
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Latah County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm numbers 1452217 and 1452218) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee and at usgenwebusgwarchives. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Latah County. The originals are held in the Latah County courthouse in Moscow, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of itsFamily History Centers.
Probate records are usually housed in the county in which the transactions took place, so the Latah County records should be available in Moscow, Idaho by visiting the county courthouse there.
The Idaho State Archives has also microfilmed many Latah County probate records, and these copies can be accessed by visiting their facility in Boise, Idaho.
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Latah County should be in the courthouse in Moscow and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
The Birth Registers for Latah County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Latah County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Some 254 birth and christening records for Latah County are found among the Idaho Birth and Christenings online.
Over 7800 marriages, 1868-1942, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Some 2128 marriages in Latah County are available in the Idaho Marriages online.
The death registers for Latah County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, Utah.
After 1911, deaths occurring in Latah County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives, the Family History Library, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is the US Genweb Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
Some 408 deaths or burials from Latah County are found among the online Idaho deaths and burials.
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Latah County District Library
110 S Jefferson St
Moscow, ID 83843
Phone: (208) 882-3925
- Historical Society
313 South Main Street, Moscow, ID 83843-2972
- Latah County Historical Society and the McConnell Museum
327 East Second Street
Moscow, ID 83843
- McConnell Mansion Museum
110 South Adams Street, Moscow, ID 83843-2829
Family History Centers
<ref>tags exist, but no
<references/>tag was found
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 18:37.
- This page has been accessed 171 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More