Hucknall Torkard, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Hucknall Torkard, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


HUCKNALL-TORKARD (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 6½ miles (N. N. W.) from Nottingham. The river Leen flows past the eastern boundary of the parish. The parish contains places of worship for General Baptists, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Hucknall ( known in older records as Hucknall Torkard from 1295-1915) is a town north east of Nottingham City Centre, which contains in its Ancient Parish Church, St Mary Magdalene in the Market Place the family vault of Lord Byron. The church is also known locally as St James. Further churches were formed from the Ancient Parish:

The church of St Mary Magdalene dates from the 12th century and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

The colliery town of Hucknall was also home to RAF Hucknall and the development of Rolls Royce engine testing.

See also Hucknall WikipediaRAF Hucknall Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Hucknall Torkard, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HUCKNALL TORKARD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hucknall Torkard

Hucknall - St. John the Evangelist.  Inside the church is a War memorial to those who fell in W.W. 1, and the names are engraved in a stained glass window.  Alphabetical listing of others who have died from this church. giving surname, given name, and date of death, some are engraved in the glass window.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 91, page 49-50, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438905.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Military

Out of the Past. Hucknall Contributions for the Defence of Old England in 1798.  Article is a transcription of people who contributed, sometimes with the amount of money donated in April 1798.  The following transcription was taken from the South Nottinghamshire Echo Newspaper 9 March 1929.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, pages 64-66, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Hucknall - Titchfield Park.  A transcripiton of the War Memorial 1914-1918.  War Memorial Ogle Street Co-op Employees who died 1914-1918, in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 82 page19-21. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Bailey, Bryan.  Extracts From Hucknall Torkard Overseers of the Poor Accounts 1813-1823.  A list of people liable to serve as Overseers of the Poor - the list actually starts in 1782. The original list is avaliable at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 9709/1 also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 123, pages 31-32. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 September 2014, at 15:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,851 times.