Huddersfield Christ Church, Woodhouse, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Huddersfield Christ Church, Woodhouse

Here is a Comprehensive List of Huddersfield St Peter's Chapels and District Churches. Huddersfield Christ Church, Woodhouse, Yorkshire family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Huddersfield Christ Church, Woodhouse, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Huddersfield PLU
Registration District Huddersfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1824
Bishop's Transcripts: 1824
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

History

HUDDERSFIELD, a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; comprising the chapelries or districts of Golcar, Lindley, Longwood, Paddock, Scammonden, Slaithwaite, and part of Marsden; and containing 38,454 inhabitants, of whom 25,068 are in the town, 40 miles (S. W.) from York, and 189 (N. N. W.) from London. Christ Church Huddersfield was created a chapelry in the year 1825 and lay within the parish boundaries of Huddersfield St Peter. Christ Church, situated on an eminence north of the town, named Woodhouse. It was one of several such district churches and chapelries within its boundaries including All Saints (1835), St Paul (1831), Trinity (1819), and the chapelries or districts of Golcar (1829), Lindley (1830), Longwood (1797), Paddock (1830), Scammonden (1746), Slaithwaite (1679), and part of Marsden (1734). [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1603.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464245.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574. Date accessed: 6 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 22:42.
  • This page has been accessed 874 times.