Hughes County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png Hughes County

Hughes County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Hughes County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Hughes County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Holdenville
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Hughes County Courthouse
200 N. Broadway Street
Holdenville, Oklahoma 74848
Phone: 405.379-5487

Contents

County Courthouse

Hughes County Courthouse
200 N Broadway Street
Holdenville, OK 74848
Phone: 405.379-5487 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court
records from 1907;  County Clerk has land records from 1907[1]

History

Parent County

1907--Hughes County was created 16 July 1907 from Creek Lands (Creek and Choctaw Lands).
County seat: Holdenville [2]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

www.okgenweb.org/okprojects/hughes/hughes-gnis.htm  Twenty-three cemeteries were found using GNIS, others identified by Oklahoma's GenWeb volunteers. Links are provided for both GNIS maps that show the general location with respect to nearby towns and DoT maps that show the township in great detail.

Holdenville Cemetery

9,715 memorials with section and row for each.
http://holdenvillecemetery.weebly.com/

Census 

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Directories

Families 

Funeral Records

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hughes County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okhughes.jpg

  • www.okgenweb.org/okprojects/atlas-key.html  For some time, this now-famous project was the only on-line source of information about many communities that existed briefly during territorial days.
  • www.okgenweb.org/okprojects/town-index.html  This index is based on OKTOWNS.ZIP, which was created by Mike Taylor in PKZIPW format. The original file is sorted by County, then Town, so you should download it if you want to find the towns in a specific county. As Mike described his project, this database was "mostly created by scanning the book 'Town and Place Locations', published by the Oklahoma Department of Transportation.

Marriage 

            There are 14,225 marriage records in the database.  Hughes County, Oklahoma Marriage Index               1907-1968.  

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hughes County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obits  

Probate

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Hughes County, Oklahoma Marriage Index 1907-1968
http://hughesokindex.weebly.com/groom-index1.html

Societies and Libraries

Excellent Library

Hughes County Historical Society includes a surprisingly good genealogical research collection.

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~okgs/records.htm  This site is a great resource for information on resources for Hughes County

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hughes County, Oklahoma. Page 559 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 7,464 times.