Hulcote with Salford, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Hulcote with Salford, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hulcote with Salford, Bedfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manshead
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Woburn PLU
Registration District Woburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658; Separate registers exist for Salford beginning 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604; Separate records exist for Salford beginning 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fleete
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HULCOTE, HOLCOTT or HOLCUTTE, is a parish in Woburn district, Bedfordshire; it is on Crawley brook, near the boundary with Buckinghamshire and is united with the vicarage of Salford. It is 2 miles NW of Ridgmount railway station, and 4 miles N of Woburn.  [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hulcote with Salford, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Hulcote with Salford, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1605-1875 1606-1877
NBI

1605-1850

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241193.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Woburn

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hulcote with Salford on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 4 Dec 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,021 times.