Hull, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hull

Contents

Parish History

HULL, or Kingston-upon-Hull, a sea-port, borough, and county of itself, situated on the borders of the East riding of York, 39 miles (S. E.) from York, and 170 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. Mary, the Holy Trinity, Drypool, and Sculcoates, the extra-parochial district of Garrison-Side, and part of the parish of Sutton. The town is situated at the confluence of the rivers Hull and Humber. The ancient borough comprises the parishes of Holy Trinity and St. Mary. There are meeting-houses for Wesleyans, Independents, Baptists, Unitarians, Swedenborgians, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Primitive and Church Methodists; also a Roman Catholic chapel, and a synagogue. The Mariners' church, on the east side of the Junction dock; and a floating chapel in the dock, are supported by contributions.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Occupations

Index to Hull Apprentices 1363 to 1835

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 574-580. Adapted. Accessed October 31, 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,123 times.