Hull St Mary, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hull St Mary

Guide to Hull St Mary, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Complete List of Kingston-upon-Hull Parishes and Chapels

Hull St Mary, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston-upon-Hull
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Hull Incorporation PLU
Registration District Hull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564; For more records see North Ferriby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HULL, or Kingston-upon-Hull, a sea-port, borough, and county of itself, situated on the borders of the East riding of York, 39 miles (S. E.) from York, and 170 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. Mary, the Holy Trinity, Drypool, and Sculcoates, the extra-parochial district of Garrison-Side, and part of the parish of Sutton. The ancient borough comprises the parishes of Holy Trinity and St. Mary, of which the greater part was demolished in the reign of Henry VIII, consists principally of the chancel of the original structure, which was enlarged in 1570, and to which a steeple was added in 1696; it contains some good windows in the later English style.[1]

This chapel was originally built as a chapel of ease to North Ferribly but was created as a parish by the year 1447. Parish registers begin in 1564.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hull St Mary, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch.org - free
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Hull St Mary, Yorkshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1716-1833

1716-1833

 
NBI

1766-1812

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 574-580. Adapted. Accessed October 31, 2013.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 923 times.