Hulme Christ Church, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hulme Christ Church, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hulme (Christ Church) was a cemetery chapel built by the year 1835; it, along with ten chapelries served Hulme Township and all of which stood within the parish boundaries of Manchester. It is in the union of Chorlton, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire. It is separated from the city of Manchester by the river Medlock.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online transcriptions for Hulme St Mark Chapelry exist. The links to online transcriptions include also most of its additional 10 sister chapelries. These chapelries comprise the large township of Hulme, which partly comprises one of the larger chapelry districts within the boundary of the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral) Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which all were attached.
Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|HULME ST MARK (1847) Indexes|
|HULME CHRIST CHURCH Cemetery Chapel (1835)|
|LBMD||1837-1936||1837-1900 - part.||1837-1864|
|HULME HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1843) Indexes|
|HULME ST GABRIEL Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|HULME ST GEORGE Chapelry (1828) Indexes|
|FS||1832-1862||1911-1931 - part.||None|
|HULME ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1856) Indexes|
|HULME ST MARY Chapelry (1858) Indexes|
|FS||1858-1931 - part.||1859-1951 - part.||None|
|HULME ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1861) Indexes|
|FS||1861-1932 - part.||1864-1963 - part.||None|
|HULME ST PAUL Chapelry (1855) Indexes|
|FS||1855-1920||1858-1955 - part.||None|
|HULME ST PHILIP Chapelry (1859) Indexes|
|FS||1859-1931 - part.||1860-1954 - part.||None|
|HULME ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1863) Indexes|
|FS||1863-1930 - part.||1870-1954 - part.||None|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes - the ancient parish
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish (chapelry) registers for St. Mark's, Hulme, 1847-1941 exist and are housed at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
Hulme Christ Church was cemetery chapel and stood within the parochial township of and was one of ten Hulme Township chapelries--and all within Manchester ancient parish's boundary. Manchester Central Library call nos. are: M383/1/1/1-10, M383/1/2/1-9, M383/1/3/1-8.
FamilySearch has also microfilmed all ten of these original parish (chapelry) registers and including Christ Church cemetery and crematoria chapel. To see the original chapel registers of a few of the extant burials, see the Family History Library Catalog online.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438735. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 21 October 2013, at 14:35.
- This page has been accessed 754 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More