Hulme St George, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Hulme St George, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hulme St George, Lancashire
St George Hulme.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorlton PLU
Registration District Chorlton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1892
Bishop's Transcripts: 1828
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Hulme (St George) was built in the year 1828 and was one of what was to become, eight chapelries serving Hulme Township and all which stood within the parish boundaries of Manchester. Hulme St George was the garrison church for the nearby barracks. It became redundant and later derelict before being converted to residential accommodation as part of the local regeneration of the inner city.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions for Hulme St George Chapelry exist. The links to online transcriptions include most of its additional 10 sister chapelries. These chapelries comprise the large township of Hulme, which partly comprises one of the larger chapelry districts within the boundary ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral) Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which all were attached.

Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HULME ST GEORGE Chapelry (1828) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1828-1913 1837-1930 1829-1920
FS 1832-1862 1911-1931 - part. None
LOPC 1828-1862  None  None
LBMD 1837-1936 1837-1911;1931-1981 1837-1864
FREG 1865-1870 None None
HULME CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1835)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
LBMD 1837-1936 1837-1900 - part. 1837-1864
HULME HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1843) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials (only)
AC 1843-1913 1843-1930
FS 1874-1897 None None
LBMD 1837-1936  1843-1951 1837-1864
HULME ST GABRIEL Chapelry (1862) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1862-1914 1869-1930
LBMD 1837-1900 1869-1969 1837-1864 
FREG None 1869-1892 None
HULME ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1856) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1856-1914 1860-1930
FS 1856-1881 None None
LBMD 1856-1900 1860-1910-1930-1952 1837-1864
HULME ST MARK (1847) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1847-1915 1852-1930
FS 1847-1937  1852-1941 None
LOPC 1847-1874  1865-1873; 1901-1917  None
LBMD 1837-1936 1852-1941 1837-1864 
HULME ST MARY Chapelry (1858) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1858-1915 1859-1930
FS 1858-1931 - part. 1859-1951 - part. None
LBMD 1858-1900 1859-1948 1858-1864
HULME ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1861) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1861-1915 1864-1930
FS 1861-1932 - part. 1864-1963 - part.  None
LOPC 1894-1896 1864-1885  None
LBMD 1861-1900  1864-1900; 1924-1940 1861-1864
HULME ST PAUL Chapelry (1855) Indexes
  Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1855-1915 1858-1930
FS 1855-1920 1858-1955 - part. None
LBMD 1855-1900  1858-1955 1855-1864 
HULME ST PHILIP Chapelry (1859) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1859-1915 1860-1930
FS 1859-1931 - part.  1860-1954 - part.  None
LBMD 1859-1900 1860-1970 1859-1864 
HULME ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1863) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1863-1915 1870-1908
FS 1863-1930 - part. 1870-1954 - part.  None
LOPC 1865-1920 None  None
LBMD 1863-1900  1870-1966 1863-1864

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

Original parish (chapelry) registers for St. George's Church, Hulme, 1828-1983 exist and are housed at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.

Hulme St George was a township chapelry possessing ten other parochial chapelries--all in Manchester ancient parish. Manchester Central Library call nos.: M383/1/1/1-10, M383/1/2/1-9, M383/1/3/1-8.

FamilySearch has microfilmed these original registers and most of the data has been transcribed and is now searchable online at its website. The original available, are follows:

Content
Film
Baptisms, February 1862-September 1892.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113128
Inventory of church records. Baptisms, September 1892-July 1926.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113129
Baptisms, July 1924-January 1983.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113130 Item 1
Marriages, 1837-October 1896.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113131
Marriages, November 1896-December 1931.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113130 Items 2 - 4
Marriages, 1911-1931 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
2357357 Items 3 - 4
Marriages, December 1931-1981.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113132
Burials, 1829-August 1858.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113133
Burials, August 1858-1920.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113134


Bishop's transcripts for Hulme, near Manchester, 1828-1841Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Bishop's transcripts from the chapelry of St. George in the township of Hulme, Manchester parish, Lancashire.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/213a

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1828-1841.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545653 Item 1


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438735.


Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel a., A Topographical Dictionary of England by (1848), pp. 574-580. Date accessed: 221 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 3,053 times.