Humboldt County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Humboldt County
Guide to Humboldt County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Humboldt County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Nevada | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | November 25, 1861 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Winnemucca |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 50 W 5th Street Winnemucca, NV 89445 Phone: 775.623.6343 Humboldt County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 25 November 1861 as an original county
- County seat: Winnemucca [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Elko | Harney County, Oregon | Lander | Malheur County, Oregon | Owyhee County, Idaho | Pershing | Washoe
During the time Nevada was part of Utah Territory, the Utah legislature created a Humboldt County, Utah in 1856 with borders partially overlapping the present-day Nevada county.
Humboldt County is Nevada's oldest surviving county if the Utah version is counted. It was also one of Nevada's original nine counties created in 1861. Humboldt County Wikipedia entry
Humboldt County Wikipedia entry
Boundary Change
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
The following web sites have entries for people buried in Humboldt County. None have complete lists:
Search the Family History Library Catalog by Place Search for Humboldt, Nevada. Check the list of records for Cemeteries. Order films into a local Family History Center. Public libraries may have copies of books or order through Interlibrary Loan.
Church Records
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level. Search the Family History Library Catalog - Place Search
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Winnemucca
Court Records
The County Clerk acts as clerk to the 6th Judicial District Court, maintains the court records for the District Court.
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Humboldt County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.
Google Books has books about the history and people in Nevada. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.
Search the Family History Library Catalog by Place Search for Humboldt County, Nevada. Check the list of records for History. Order films into a local Family History Center. Public libraries may have copies of books or order through Interlibrary Loan.
Land and Property
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the Family History Library Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Humboldt – LAND AND PROPERTY
The County Recorder is responsible for recording, scanning/microfilming and indexing of Real Estate Transactions, Mining Claim Locations and Assessment Work, Contracts, Leases, Judgments, UCC/Fixture Filing Statements, Liens, Maps and other miscellaneous documents.
Humboldt County Recorders by Town
Maps
- Historical Maps of Nevada
- David Rumsey Collection for Nevada
- Perry-Castaneda Map Collection for Nevada
- Historic Map Works can view some images for free, though this is a commercial site
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Humboldt County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[2]
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California[3]
Military
Search the Family History Library Catalog by Place Search for Humboldt County, Nevada. Check the records for Military records. Order films through a local Family History Center.
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Humboldt County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Humboldt County, Nevada Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Search the Family History Library Catalog by Place Search for Humboldt, Nevada. Check the records for Newspapers. Order films at a local Family History Center. Public libraries may have copies of books or order through Interlibrary Loan.
Obituaries
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
Probate records for Humboldt County
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Humboldt County Courthouse
50 W 5th Street
Winnemucca, NV 89445
Phone: 775.623.6343
County Clerk has marriage records from 1881,
divorce and court records from 1863,
probate records from 1900 and naturalization records from 1864.
County Recorder has land records. [4]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Humboldt County Library
85 East 5th Street
Winnumucca, NV 89445
(775) 623-6388
Museums
Societies
- Nevada State Genealogical Society
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
- Nevada State Genealogical Society
- Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Telephone: 775-688-1190
Fax: 775-688-2917
- Nevada Historical Society
Taxation
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
Tax Records of Humboldt County
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Birth
Marriage
The County Recorder is responsible for the recording, scanning/microfilming and indexing of marriage certificates.
Over 651 marriages from 4 Jul 1862 to 4 Apr 1900 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.
Death
Search the Family History Library Catalog by Place Search for Humboldt County, Nevada. Check the list for Vital records. Order films into a local Family History Center.
Websites
- The Humboldt GenWeb Project, a member of the NVGenWeb Project:Genealogy and Local History in Nevada (with jurisdictions for Nevada) is an affiliate of the USGenWeb Project. The USGenWeb project may have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Family History Library Catalog for Humboldt County, Nevada.
Places
| Awakening | Dyke | Knight | Red House |
| Bliss | Ellison | McDermitt | Rose Creek |
| Chinatown | Getchell | Orovada | Sulphur |
| Comus | Golconda | Paradise Valley | Tule |
| Cordero | Gouge Eye | Platora | Valmy |
| Daveytown | Harveyville | Preble | Weso |
| Denio | Herrin | Pronto | Winnemucca |
| Denio Junction | Hot Springs | Raglan |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Humboldt County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 04:05.
- This page has been accessed 2,672 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



