Humphreys County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Humphreys County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Humphreys County (established 1809) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Humphreys County, Tennessee|
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded||October 19, 1809|
|Address|| Humphreys County Courthouse]|
102 Thompson Street
Waverly, TN 37185
Humphreys County Website
Humphreys County's civil records start the following years:
102 Thompson St.
Waverly, TN 37185
Humphreys County Clerk
Marriage, land and probate records
Room 2, Courthouse Annex
102 Thompson St.
Waverly, TN 37185
Courthouse burned in 1876 and 1898. Only the land records are complete.
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Middle Tennessee county on the Tennessee River. Established 1809.
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
- Lost census: 1810, 1890
- Lost marriage records: 1809 to 1861
- Lost probate records: 1809 to 1836
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in Tennessee Genealogy Blog
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
|Belleview||Elysian Grove||Johnsonville||Poplar Grove|
|Bold Spring||Forest Hill||McEwen||Reynoldsburg (hist.)|
|Buffalo||Forks of Blue Creek||Milltown||Taylortown|
|Cedar Grove||Gorman||New Johnsonville||Water Valley|
|Clydeton (hist.)||Halls Creek||Old Fields Place||Waverly|
|Concord||Hopkins Crossing||Pigeon Roost||Wills Chapel|
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Humphreys County biography and cemetery records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Humphreys County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
Census takers found no free African Americans living in Humphreys County, Tennessee in 1820.
Charles A. Reeves Jr. has created a detailed map showing the locations of Humphreys County cemeteries. It may be purchased for a small fee through his website.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Humphreys County linking to the information about the people buried there,
- Humphreys County, TN Cemetery Records, part of the TNGenWeb Cemetery Database, lists many cemeteries in the county, often with indexes and transcripts of the burials.
- Humphreys County, Tennessee, part of USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project lists many cemeteries in the county and has transcripts of the tombstones arranged by cemetery.
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries for Humphreys County. Some of the books or other books may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population censuses of Humphreys County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available:
- Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.
- Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Middle District, Humphreys County on page 156.]
- Garrett, Jill. Humphreys County, Tennessee 1850 Census & Additional Notes.Columbia, Tennessee : J. K. Garrett, 1962. FHL 976.837 X2p
- Finley, Nina. Census of the Houston County Area.Erin, Tennessee : Friends of Houston County Library, 19-? FHL 976.836 X2f Vol. 6, Northern Humphreys County.
- Finley, Nina. Census of the Houston County Area.Erin, Tennessee : Friends of Houston County Library, 19-? FHL 976.836 X2f Vol. 7, Northern Humphreys County.
- Clifton, Betty F.1870 Census of Humphreys County, Tennessee.Taylorsville, California : B.F. Clifton, 1979. FHL 976.837 X2c 1870
- Finley, Nina. Census of the Houston County Area.Erin, Tennessee : Friends of Houston County Library, 19-? FHL 976.836 X2f Vol. 8, Northern Humphreys County.
- Fischer, Marjorie Hood and Ruth B. Burns. 1880 Census, Humphreys County, Tennessee. Vista, California : Ram Press, 1987. FHL 976.837 X2f 1880
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 8 1891. [Humphreys County is included in Vol. 8.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
- Bryant, Betty Huff Jackson County, Tennessee, Chancery Court minutes, 1840-1861 Austin, Texas : [Betty Huff Bryant], 1993. FHL US/CAN book 976.851 P28b Free lookups available!
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- [Adams] Hampton, Estelline Adams. John Adams, Esquire (III): Ancestors and Descendants. Unknown: unknown, 1976. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 982157 Item 7; digital versions available at Ancestry ($); View copies at FamilySearch Books Online; and Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Beasley] Lockhart, William Thomas. The Beasley Family of Benton, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys and Stewart Counties of Tennessee. Florissant, Missouri: W. Lockhart, 1985. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B38Lw.
- [Hamilton] Hamilton, Thomas. Autobiography of Thomas Hamilton. Typescript, microfilmed 1972. FHL US/CAN Film 896607 Item 2.
- [Knight] Garrett, Jill Knight. Knight Cousins. [Columbia, TN: Unknown, 1967. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 928090; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [McMurtry] McMurtry, Otis D. Chronology of the Life of John McMurtry, Esq., Soldier, Privateer of the American Revolution: Progentior of the McMurtry Clan of Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. FHL US/CAN Film 570838 Item 2.
- [McMurtry] McMurtry, Brian L. The West Tennessee McMurtry Family: A Synopsis of the Lives and Historical Background that Surrounded the McMurtry Family of Humphreys, Benton, and Henry County, TN. Newburgh, Ind.: B.L. McMurtry, 2006. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M229mb.
- [Whitfield] Whitfield, Vallie Jo Fox. Whitfield History and Genealogy of Tennessee. [Walnut Creek, CA: Unknown,, 1964. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 879642 Item 1; digital version available at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- Humphreys County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1810 and is located at Room 3 - Court House Annex, 102 Thompson, Waverly, Tennessee 37185; 931-296-7681. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deeds 1810-1897 with indeses 1810-1907; land sales frm the late 1800s to the early 1900s; tax books 1898-1916.
- Free lookups available for Tennessee Land Grants C-CZ, H-Hz, S-Sz, N-O, P-
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
- Smith, H. K. Some Encounters with General Forrest. McKenzie, Tenn.?: unknown, 1959. Available at Heritage Quest Online ($).
The following Humphreys County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
- 1835 Pension Roll
- 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions
- Select Humphreys County, Tennessee Revolutionary War Pension files
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;nbsp;US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Middle District, Humphreys County on page 156.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul. 1960):65-68; Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct. 1960):90-93. FHL US/CAN&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;nbsp;Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Humphreys County pensioners 7(3):68, 7(4):90.]
Civil War service men from Humphreys County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Humphreys County.
- 10th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (DeMoss') - CSA - Companies A, F and K.
- 10th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company A.
- 11th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies A and I.
- 20th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Russell's) - CSA - Company F.
- 20th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA
- 24th Battalion, Tennessee Sharpshooters (Maney's) - CSA - Companies A, B and C.
- 42nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company D.
- 50th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company K.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Humphreys County:
- McMurray, William Joseph. History of the 20th Tennessee Regiment Volunteer Infantry, C.S.A. Nashville, Tennessee: s.p., 1904. Free digital copy.
- Tennesseans in the Civil War : a military history of Confederate an dUnion units with rosters of personnel Nashville, Tennessee : Civil War Centennial Commission, 1964. FHL US/CAN book 976.8 M2 Free lookups available!
- Wifering, Edna and Sherrill, Charles A. Tennessee's Confederate Widows and their families Cleveland, Tennessee : Cleveland Public Staff and Volunteers, 1992. FHL US/CAN book 976.8 M28 Free lookups available!
- American Memory, Selected Civil War Photographs, 1861-1865, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Johnsonville.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Humphreys County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Humphreys County, page 348.
Spanish American War
- Hale, Will T.The First Tennessee Regiment, United States Volunteers. Nashville, 1899. Free digital copy.
RAOGK volunteer is willing to do obituary lookups in Humphreys County newspapers covering the years 1931 to 2003.
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Humphreys County click on the following cities or towns:
- Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Humphreys County.]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Humphreys County, Tennessee have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
- Humphreys County Historical Society
- Family History Library has no. 1 - 36 (1978 - 2005) FHL US/CAN book 976.837 B2h
Indexed a PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
- The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Humphreys County, Tennessee have been published in The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, the quarterly of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society (23+ Vols.). To view a list of these articles, visit their online Index to Articles (1988-2005). Surname indexes are also available online for Vols. 2-22. The website also offers back issues for sale in paper and on CD. The Family History Library has a complete collection of this quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.
- The River Counties
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Humphreys County, Tennessee records were published in The River Counties Quarterly, (14 vols.) edited by Jill K. Garrett. The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2rc.
Learn if your Humphreys County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
The Humphreys County Court has responsibility for the probate records.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Inventories, Wills, 1837-1906 (4 vols.)
- Bonds, 1882-1913
- Bonds, Letters, 1886-1974
- Claims again estates, 1870-1902
- Conveyance abstracts, 1898-1899
- Insolvent estate records, 1886-1962
- Inventories, 1852-1857 (Vol. H), 1868-1878 (Vol. K)
- Juvenile records, 1941-1964
- Letters, 1907-1956 (2 vols.)
- Minutes, 1842-1850, 1883-1887, 1894-1900 (5 vols.)
- Settlements, 1856-1880, 1886-1924 (3 vols.)
The following Humphreys County probate records have been abstracted, indexed, or both:
- [1837-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;nbsp;976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.]
- [1838-1844] Works Progress Administration. Wills and Inventories, 1838-1844. [Nashville, Tennessee]: Works Progress Administration, 1938. Typescript of the original records.
The following Humphreys County tax records have been abstracted:
-  Taxable Inhabitants, 1812, Ansearchin' News, Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct. 1964). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
-  Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. [Includes 1812 tax list.]
-  Free Taxable Inhabitants, 1812, Benton County Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr. 1994).
-  "U.S. Holds 1817 Public Sale of Federal Tax-Delinquent Properties in Tennessee," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Summer 1996):63-68. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. [Includes Humphreys County.]
-  Nichols, Elizabeth Riggins. "Humphreys County, Tennessee 1836 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 35, No. 3 (Fall 1988):111-114. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
-  Nazor, Mary Louise Graham. "Humphreys County, Tennessee 1837 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 35, No. 4 (Winter 1988):165-170. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1837-1843] Fischer, Marjorie and Ruth B. Burns. Humphreys County, Tennessee, Records: Tax Lists, 1837-1843; Marriages, 1888-1900.Vista, California : Ran Press, 1987. FHL 976.837 R4f
-  Tax List, 1839, River Counties, Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jul. 1973).
-  Tax List, 1852, District 1, River Counties, Vol. 10, Nos. 1-4 (1981).
-  "Humphreys County Land Sold for Unpaid 1869 Taxes," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 46, No. 2 (Summer 1999):39. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
The original Humphreys County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. Due to fire, all marriage records prior to 1864 are lost. The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:
- Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
The following Humphreys County marriage records are microfilmed:
- 1864-1993 - Available at the TSLA.
- 1864-1959 - Available at the Family History Library. Volumes are indexed.FHL 979381
The following Humphreys County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- 1861-1888 - Fischer, Marjorie H. and Ruth Blake Burns. Humphreys County, Tennessee Marriage Records, 1861-1888. Vista, California: Ram Press, 1984. FHL 976.837 V2f Information abstracted from marriage books A, C, D, F, G.
- 1862-1895 - Humphreys County Marriage Index 1862-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1864-1868 - Marriage Records, 1864-1868, Humphreys County, Tennessee. Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1939. Typescript. FHL 24705 Item 2
- 1888-1900 - Fischer, Marjorie H. and Ruth B. Burns. Humphreys County, Tennessee, Records: Tax Lists, 1837-1843; Marriages, 1888-1900. Vista, California: Ran Press, 1987. FHL 976.837 R4f
- Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
- Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($) Be aware that this index is not complete for many counties.
Humphreys County is not indexed in Sistler's Early Middle Tennessee Marriages.
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Humphreys County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
For deaths of Methodists in Humphreys County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;nbsp;US/CAN&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;nbsp;Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Societies and Libraries
Humphreys County Historical Society
105 1/2 Carroll Ave
Waverly, TN 37185
Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Humphreys County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005
Humphreys County Public Library
201 Pavo Avenue
Waverly, TN 37185
| West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Hours vary by semester
|The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky.|
Family History Centers
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Humphreys County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Humphreys County, Tennessee Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Humphreys County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Humphreys County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Rootwalker: Genealogy Pages for Northern Middle TN Free Genealogy Resources for the Region
- RootsWeb Mailing List: DanvilleCrossing-L (Tennessee River County Genealogy and History List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: DanvilleQueries-L (Tennessee River County Genealogy and History List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TN-ROOTWALKER-L (North Central Tennessee Genealogy List)
- ↑ Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Humphreys County, Tennessee page 641, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 641. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ "Tennessee County" in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tennessee_County (accessed 25 May 2010), and Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004) [FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004], 639.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ *Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website.
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 8 May 2013, at 19:04.
- This page has been accessed 7,587 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More