Hunstanton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Hunstanton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hunstanton, Norfolk
Old Hunstanton Church St Mary Norfolk.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HUNSTANTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 16½ miles (N. N. E.) from Lynn. [1] Also referred to as Hunston.[2]
Old Hunstanton St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.
Other places in the parish include: Ringstead Parva and Barrett Ringstead

Old Hunstanton is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of North Norfolk.

This small settlement adjoins to the north of the larger resort of Hunstanton. The quiet character of Old Hunstanton remains distinct from and complements that of its busy sibling, with clifftop walks past a disused lighthouse and the ruins of St. Edmund's Chapel, built in 1272. The River Hun runs to the coast just to the east of old Hunstanton.

In 1870 Hunstanton St Edmund, Norfolk was created from within the Ancient parish to serve the needs of the developing seaside resort to the south of the village.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hunstanton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Hunstanton, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1901
1538-1901
1538-1906
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1901 Undefined 1538-1906
TIN 1813-1880

Norfolk Record Office Parish Records of Old Hunstanton (St Mary's) reference PD698

Content Film
General registers, 1538-1812 (baptisms, burials, 1538-1812; marriages, 1538-1753). Baptisms, 1813-1901. FHL BRITISH Film
1951635 Items 17 - 22
Marriages and marriage banns, 1754-1812. Marriages, 1813-1901. Burials, 1813-1906. Marriage banns, 1824-1900. Register bills for baptisms, marriages, burials, 1642-1661. Marriage transcripts, 1656-1754. FHL BRITISH Film
1951636 Items 1 - 9

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812

Baptisms and marriages 1725-1811 Burials 1725-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526810 Item 4

St.Edmunds Chapel, Old Hunstanton Rins St Edmund's chapel.jpg

Known Issues

Images of the parish register are available online at FamilySearch Historical Records. An error in loading images has the Baptism Marriages and burials register for the parish loaded in the images for Thelveton, Norfolk

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 583-588. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. Pat Newby, "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes" GenUKI
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,593 times.