Huntsham, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Contents

Parish History

HUNTSHAM, a parish, in the union and hundred of Tiverton, Cullompton and N. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Bampton. This parish, which is situated in a very retired part of the county, far from any public road, and the river Lowman, which falls into the Exe at Tiverton, has its source in the parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Huntsham, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Huntsham, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1559-1875 1597-1675, 1690-1875


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241325.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 588-591. Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:54.
  • This page has been accessed 406 times.