Hurdsfield, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.pngHurdsfield

Guide to Hurdsfield, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

See Hurdsfield Holy Trinity, Cheshire

Contents

Parish History

HURDSFIELD, is a township, in the parish of Prestbury, union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester; and is adjoining the town of Macclesfield on the east. The Macclesfield and Chapel-en-le-Frith road, and the Macclesfield canal, pass through. A very neat church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was consecrated in 1837. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Hurdsfield Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Hurdsfield Holy Trinity Parish (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1839-1909
  NONE
1864-1934
  NONE
1840-1940
  NONE
FS BT'S     NONE
  NONE
    NONE
  NONE
1846-1847
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of Hurdsfield parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Cheshire Record Office no.: P165/1/1-2, P165/2/1-7, P165/3/1-3, P165/4/1.

Parish registers for Hurdsfield, 1839-1980 Film
Baptisms, 1839-1927.
2186939 Items 5 - 6
Marriages, 1840-1969. Burials, 1839-1887.
2186940
Burials, 1887-1940. Graves register, 1840-1980.
2186941 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 116

Bishop's transcripts for Hurdsfield, 1846-1847 Film
Baptisms, 1846-1847, burials, 1846-1847, baptisms, burials, 1847. 1647433 Item 3

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan

Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 1/1.

Church records for the Waterloo Street New Connexion Methodist Chapel, Hurdsfield, 1878-1965 Film
Baptisms, 1878-1965. 2299472 Item 6

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districtions

  • Macclesfield (1837-1975)

Poor Law

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 8 March 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,038 times.